Mozart’s Requiem – May 8, 2021

Ombra felice…Io to lascio, K. 255
Laudamus te, from Mass in C minor, K. 427
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Sarah Richmond, mezzo soprano
Matthew Owens, piano

Requiem, K. 626
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Dies irae
Tuba mirum
Rex tremendae
Lacrimosa (first eight measures)
Domine Jesu

Megan Miceli, soprano
Jennifer Routhier, mezzo sorpano
River Guard, tenor
Michael Robert-Broder, baritone

David Bowser, conductor
Stephen Boda, organ

Mozart died in 1791 leaving his Requiem unfinished. While the work was subsequently completed by his friend, colleague and former student Franz Sussmeier, consideration of Mozart’s incomplete version reveals the intensity of Mozart’s creative process and the depth his genius. It is also a touching testament to a precious life cut short by illness at the age of 35.

This free concert will be streamed on YouTube on May 8th at 7:30pm. Register by visiting https://requiem-may-8.eventbrite.ca to receive the link. Donations are gratefully accepted.

The programme for the concert, including translations, can be found here: